History of Meadows Inn
The Meadows Inn became the Premiere bed and breakfast in New Bern in 1980. Formerly the Kings’ Arm B&B, it became the Meadows Inn in 2000, when the fourth innkeepers returned the name to its historic roots. The history of the building continues to unfold with the stories & pictures from former inhabitants that made this building their home prior to the bed & breakfast.
The original “two over two room” structure was built in 1847 by John Alexander Meadows. J.A. Meadows owned and operated the J.A. Meadows Grist Mill, J.A. Meadows Ship Yard and the The Meadows Fertilizer Co. along the waterfront and just steps away from his private residence. Upon his death in 1865, the home passed to his daughter.
The home was considerably enlarged between 1898 and 1904 during Mayer Hahn’s ownership. Standing now much as it did when remodeled for Hahn, the two story house is covered by an unusual, deeply concave mansard roof. The rear addition is somewhat wider than the front, creating a projecting bay effect at each side. Several of the original simple, transitional late Federal-Greek Revival mantels remain in the home, along with the introduction of a handsome late-Victorian stair with a heavy octagonal newel and turned balusters, and mantels and trim typical of the period.
It has a rich history of being a private residence, survived the civil war and became an antique shop in the 20th century.The top picture on this page depicts the appearance of the exterior prior to exterior restoration.
Enjoy hospitality with historic splendor, while staying at this casual charming Inn. Lavish the senses with serene surroundings, peaceful sleep, and culinary delightful breakfasts. Discover New Bern’s eclectic array of shops, eateries & cultural gems offering the arts, history, touring by trolley, carriage and by foot.
Your Innkeepers, John & Betty Foy
Innkeepers John & Betty Foy relocated from Elkhart, IN and left employment in business and nursing to pursue new careers in New Bern, NC. We found the property at 212 Pollock Street (the former Kings’ Arms Inn) in March of 2000 and opened our doors as the Meadows Inn in August of 2000. Owning a historic home and preserving its history is an awesome responsibility. We realize we are caretakers and stewards of the past. We feel blessed to be innkeepers of the Meadows Inn for the past 15 years and someday will turn it over to someone else. We enjoy welcoming guests from the US and afar. New Bern’s 300th in 2010 and our connection with Bern, Switzerland has prompted Swiss visitors. A love of travel and reading brought about the themed rooms. After traveling the U.S. while raising four children, we were introduced to Europe. A family trip to Ireland and trips to Europe gave us the travel bug. We live vicariously now with our themed rooms and “souvenirs”.*
Betty – A new career in innkeeping combined multiple talents, hobbies and pursuits of happiness in the South. Combining recipes from the Midwest and the South to please our guests has been a delight. After an initial intimidation period of the task of furnishing a historic building, the hunt was on to find antique pieces and furnishings to reflect the perfect imperfections of the past to provide a comfortable setting for our guests. We continue to reinvent, recycle, reuse and pass onto others an appreciation for this historic town and building.
John – Integral part of the innkeeping team. Both of your hosts are very involved in familiarizing our guests with New Bern and all it has to offer. Administration and maintenance are but a few of his talents to keep the circa 1847 building maintained.
*Souvenir: the French verb means to remember and the original Latin, subvenir, means “to come from under”, as a memory comes up from the subconscious. Webster’s’ dictionary definition is “act of remembering, something that serves as a reminder, memento.